Support for survivors of abuse during lockdown

Support for survivors of abuse during lockdown

During this time of crisis in our country, we are extremely concerned about our women and children, living in abusive relationships. Social distancing and self-isolation can make living with an abusive partner even more challenging. The abuser might also use the COVIC-19 outbreak to exert further control and discourage victims from leaving the house. DO NOT LET COVID-19 PREVENT YOU FROM SEEKING HELP.

We encourage everyone to memorize and record the details of their closes crisis center, especially the phone numbers, so that a quick instant massage or a call an connect you to help you need. Many organizations will be working closely with the police over this period to intensify efforts of help and support.

Below is a list of centres that focus on helping those suffering from abuse.

· The Epic Foundation’s counsellors are available for telephonic counselling, WhatsApp counselling, and Skype if you prefer. We had several counsellors all over the country who have offered their services during this time. Below a list of our counsellors and their contact details should you require assistance.
· We list all the Lifeline Centers over the country as their lines will remain open and they will provide support and comfort. Lifeline will also work closely with the police and the shelters in the geographic areas linked to their centers. We listed all the LifeLine Centres nationally in the event that somone you know residing in another province needs help.
· Also included below is a list of other organisations open and offering support during this time.

ALSO REMEMBER: The police have increased it’s units dealing with women & child abuse. You can call ‪0800 150 150‬, and the Police will respond.

Counsellors supporting Epic Foundation during this time – although an area is indicated where they are – as this will be telephonic/whatsapp contact any of the counsellors listed can be used:

Alternatively, you can also send a WhatsApp to the Epic Foundation, with your name and the area you are in so that we can get one of our counsellors to reach out to you – ‪082 940 6230‬

Your Lifeline Centers across South Africa

Other organizations providing support during this time:

Kids Haven – Benoni Sam Mokgopha or Moira Simpson – ‪011 421 4222‬ – sam@kidshaven.co.za / moiras@kidshaven.co.za – they will still be open to admit any children who are victims of abuse.

Teddy Bear Clinic – Shaheda Omar – ‪083 557 3720‬ – they will continue to render emergency services to victims who need it

Childline Gauteng – Lynne Cawood – their 24 hour remains open and they will provide assistance ‪0800055555‬

Amcare – Alberton – Marihet Infantino – ‪011 869 5856‬ – marihetinfo@amcare.org.za – their shelter will remain open during lockdown.

The Viva Foundation – Pretoria – Meleney Kriel – ‪079 954 4426‬

Optimistic Bikers Against Rape and Abuse – Celeste Louw – you can inbox, WhatsApp or telegram them on sos@optmystic.za.net – ‪072 427 0187‬

POWA – East Rand and West Rand –Command Centre – ‪0800428428‬

South African Male Survivors of Sexual Abuse and Rape – will offer support via phone, WhatsApp, text voice or video calls – Rees Man – ‪083 325 2141‬ – rees@samsosa.org

For further information, you are welcome to contact the Epic Foundation on info@epicfoundation.org.za or ‪082 940 6230‬.

Alta McMaster
CEO and Founder

More contact details:

Carla Geustyn cmjgeustyn@gmail.com 063 689 7299 Gauteng – Alberton/Germiston
Koleka Xaba kolekaxaba@gmail.com 072 241 3119 Gauteng – Boksburg
Delene Strydom strydom.delene@gmail.com 084 777 4409 Gauteng – Bryanston
Jade Fletcher jade@creativecounsellingcentre.org.za 071 404 9470 Gauteng – Douglasdale
Nondumiso Nyawo nondunyawo@gmail.com 062 779 7703 Gauteng – Honeydew
Riyasat-Jaan Khan riyasatjaankhan29@gmail.com 072 023 8187 Gauteng – Johannesburg/ Lenasia
Marjie Tracy tracy6635@gmail.com 078 716 9495 / 081 404 3555 Gauteng – Midrand
Ayesha Karlie-Malagas ayesha@startxswellness.co.za 083 730 4556 Gauteng – Pretoria
Monica Fourie monica@laviecounselling.co.za 083 412 2791 Gauteng – Pretoria
Palesa Tshetlo palesa.counselling@gmail.com 066 225 7578 (call) / 067 676 8233 (WhatsApp) Gauteng – Pretoria

NAME E-MAIL CONTACT NR AREA
Plantinah Matsemela p_matsemela@yohoo.com 072 645 7431 Gauteng – Pretoria
Botshelo Mosito mbotshelo20@gmail.com 073 918 6088 / 082 073 2568 Gauteng – Pretoria
Madaba Khodani khodani.mabada@gmail.com 076 251 9308 Gauteng – Pretoria Central
Precious Rupondo precious@auxiliumcentre.com 072 389 4962 / 011 050 5281 Gauteng – Roodepoort/ Horizon View
Success Chauke successchaukec@gmail.com 073 112 8962 Gauteng – Soshanguve/ Mabopane/ Hammanskraal.
Nonhlanhla Mazaleni nonhlanhlamazaleni9@gmail.com 061 189 0859 Gauteng – Soweto/ Diepsloot
Michelle McCallum michelle-mccallum@life.co.za 082 510 4714 / 074 220 7958 Gauteng – Vaal Triangle
Razeena Saloojee razeena@cre8tivesolutions.co.za 082 699 2256 Gauteng – Vaal/Jhb South
Zanele Mdhluli agrinettemdhluli12@gmail.com 079 867 8167 Gauteng – Westrand

Ntebaleng Pelo ntebalengp@yahoo.com 0834373270 / 079 561 9777 Limpopo
Mulalo Nemabaka nemabakamulalo@gmail.com 082 210 3082 Limpopo – Polokwane
Naasira Lambat naasira@abiesgroup.co.za 079 777 1517 Limpopo – Potgietersrus
Octavea Mbuyane prcmbuyaneno@gmail.com 063 698 5792 / 083 453 1063 Mpumalanga – Hazyview
Nasreen Parak nas.parak@yahoo.com 078 685 0321 Mpumalanga – Volksrust/Ermelo/ Newcastle
Possy Alucia Ngobeni aluciapossy@gmail.com 063 244 9517 Mpumalanga/ Nelspruit/Polokwane

Kayla-Tess Pattenden kaylatesspattenden@theconnectgroup.co.za 079 513 7015 Cape Town
Manguvhewa Mutshinye mutshinyem@gmail.com 082 658 8189 / 063 601 1801 / 021 466 1588 Cape Town
Cindy-Lee Visagie raphajhva@gmail.com 082 469 3915 Cape Town – Kraaifontein/ Bellville/Bothasig, Brackenfell/Durbanville/Edgemead/Kuils River/Joostenberg Vlakte
Lisa Roese lisaroese@yahoo.com 073 544 5372 Cape Town – Vredehoek
Ntokozo Msomi ntkzmsomi@gmail.com 071 032 3260 KZN
Yolanda Shiers yshiers@gmail.com 031 764 0492 / 083 564 7262 KZN
Nomcebyu Busisiwe Biyela nomcebobusisiwe@gmail.com 063 221 1558 KZN – Richards Bay

LIFELINE

CENTRE CENTRE LANDLINE DIRECTOR CELL NR E-MAIL
Braamfontein 011 715 2000 Molefi Takalo / Peter Maulana 062 299 2001 TakaloMJ@lifeline.org.za / peterm@lifeline.org.za
Durban 031 303 1344 Pravisha Dhanapalan 084 690 7533 director@lifelinedurban.org.za
Erkuhuleni 011 421 0384 Debbie Richards 072 253 1244 debbie.lifeline@gmail.com
Free State 057 357 2746 David Mokoena 072 068 8159 llfs@telkomsa.net
Garden Route 044 343 2769 Brenda Tayler 081 430 2264 lifeline@vodamail.co.za
Johannesburg 011 728 1331 Isabella Holden 082 813 2710 isabella@lifelinejhb.org.za
Klerksdorp 018 462 7838 Michael Selala 076 572 4585 llinekld@gds.co.za
Mafikeng 018 381 0976 Mmaja Motjale 082 799 6304 mmotjale@lifelinemafikeng.co.za
Nelspruit 013 755 2635/755 3606 Annriette Slabber 082 554 1182 annriette@xsinet.co.za

CENTRE CENTRE LANDLINE DIRECTOR CELL NR E-MAIL
Northern Cape 053 832 8533 Brende Harker 081 312 3748 lifeline.northerncape@gmail.com
Pietermaritzburg 033 342 4447 Sinikiwe Biyela 082 592 6813 director@lifelinepmb.co.za
Polokwane 015 306 0340 Agnes   lifelinelimpopo@telkomsa.net
Pretoria 012 804 1853 Sonja Rayne 076 516 8824 director.lifelinepta@gmail.com
Rustenburg 014 594 1455 Benjamin Makhoana 073 597 0828 director@lifelinertb.co.za
Vaal Triangle 016 428 1740 Colleen Rogers 082 401 2296 colleen@lifelinevaal.co.za
Western Cape 021 461 1113 Glynis Depper glynis@silvercloudit.com
Westrand 011 665 2281 Karina Swart 071 896 1473 director@lifelinewestrand.co.za
Zululand 035 789 2472 Michelle Jewlal 082 554 4244 directorllzul@telkomsa.net

 


React

Share

Comments


Trending News

More News

About Tame Times

Providing readers with informative and exciting news, tame TIMES is the fastest growing independent newspaper stable servicing Johannesburg South and Ekurhuleni areas....

Get in Touch