tame Times Fresh Approach to local news
Ekurhuleni renaming spree: These 44 locations now have different names

Ekurhuleni renaming spree: These 44 locations now have different names

A mass renaming programme in Ekurhuleni has seen a total of 44 locations change to something different. The project, overseen by Mayor Mzwandile Masina, has been pushed through to help ‘celebrate the real heroes of South Africa’.


A statement from the Ekurhuleni Municipality in Gauteng confirmed that many ‘high-profile routes and venues’ would now go by a different name – with all the usual suspects involved:

“The City of Ekurhuleni has begun the process of physically changing street names across the metro. The names changes form part of a two-year process undertaken by the African National Congress (ANC) led Coalition in Ekurhuleni, which included extensive public consultation and numerous legislative approvals.”

“Amongst the high profile name changes are; Gilloolys Interchange (N12) which will now be known as George Bizos Interchange, Van Buuren (N3) which will now be known as Thabo Mbeki Road, Ollifantsfontein (R562) which will now be known as Winnie Mandela Drive, and Alberton (N12/N17) will be renamed Chris Hani Road, to name a few.”


Mayor Masina, proud of what the city has achieved in the two-year timeframe, says that the renaming process will better honour those who fought for social justice in Mzansi. He also had a few words for the haters, too…

“The overarching objective of the ANC is to build a National Democratic Society that recognises and celebrates the heroes and heroines of South Africa who embody the ideals of social justice and equality. Street names and the names of landmarks symbolise the identity and character of our city.”

“Critics may accuse the city of wasting public funds with the name changes. However, we believe, with great conviction, that future generations of South Africans must grow up in an inclusive environment that celebrates the best of humanity and recognises personal sacrifice in the name of justice as an epithet for remembrance.” | Mzwandile Masina



  • Michelle Avenue to be renamed Nelson Mandela Lane
  • Barry Marais Road to be renamed George Makhubela Road


  • Kingsway Library to be renamed Lawrence Bongani Sibanyoni Library
  • Villa Liza Clinic to be renamed to Chris Hani Clinic
  • New Germiston Theatre to be named Dumi Masilela Theatre
  • The Springs Fresh Produce Market to be renamed Ekurhuleni Fresh Produce Market
  • The Vooslorus Cemetery to be renamed Isaac Scoot Nyashego
  • Springs Theatre to be renamed Ken Gampu Theatre
  • New Tsakane Library to be renamed Mpho Rahab Molepo Library
  • Germiston Government Precinct to be renamed OR Tambo Government Precinct
  • Exit Route: Michelle Ave – Meyersdal (R59/Alberton South) to be renamed after Nelson Mandela
  • Exit Route: M2/Germiston – Geldenhuys Interchange (N3) to be renamed after Bavumile Vilakazi


  • Exit route: R59 (N12) to be renamed after Abram Moroe
  • Exit Route: Jet Park Road (N12) to be renamed after Sthembiso Clarence Lukhele
  • Exit Route:Tom Jones Road (N12) to be renamed after Amina Cachalia
  • Exit Route: Alberton (N12/N17) to be renamed after Chris Hani
  • Exit Route: Rietfontein Road (N12) to be renamed after Chris Dlamini
  • Exit Route: Putfontein Road (N12) to be renamed after Cleoupas Nsibanda
  • Exit Route: Edenvale (N12) to be renamed after Lungile Mtshali
  • Exit Route: Snake Road (N12) to be renamed after Mary Moodley
  • Exit Route: Kraft Road (N12) to be renamed Ntemi Ncwane
  • Exit Route: Etwatwa (N12) to be renamed after Oscar Mabika
  • Exit Route: Atlas Road (N12) to be renamed after Solomon Jefferson Mahlangu
  • Exit Route: Daveyton (Kingsway Road N12) to be renamed after Richard Mhlongo
  • Exit Route: Holfontein/Pansy Road (N12) to be renamed after Salvation Motshweni
  • Exit Route: Gilloolys Interchange (N12) to be renamed after George Bizos


  • Exit Route: Voortrekker Road (Kempton Park – R21) to be named after Amon Ngulele
  • Exit Route: Tonk Meter Road (N17) to be renamed after Congress Skhumbuzo Mtsweni
  • Exit Route: Heidelberg Road to be renamed after David Bopape
  • Exit Route: Swartkoppies Road (R59/Alberton South) to be renamed after Ali Maziya
  • Exit Route: Leondale/Spruitview (N3) to be renamed after Elliot Sogoni
  • Exit Route: Rand Airport to be renamed after Fanyana Banda
  • Exit Route: Barry Marais (N3) to be renamed after George Makhubela
  • Exit Route: Heidelberg Road to be renamed after Grace Flathela
  • Exit Route: Osborne Road (N17) to be renamed after Johnson Nonjeke
  • Griffiths Road (R21) to be renamed after Joseph Kagarose
  • Exit Route: Denne Road/Goods Road to be renamed after Kunyamane Ranyaoa
  • Exit Route: Barbara Road (R24) to be renamed after Lazarus Mawela
  • Exit Route: Linksfield Road (N3) to be renamed after Thabo Malatjie
  • Exit Route: Alberton (N3) to be renamed after Paul Sehlogo
  • Exit Route: Edenvale (R24)/Van Riebeeck to be renamed after Lungile Mtshali
  • Exit Route: Ergo Road (N17)/Eleventh Road to be renamed after Margaret Gazo
  • Exit Route: Michelle Ave – Meyersdal (R59/Alberton South) to be renamed after Nelson Mandela
  • Exit Route: Nigel Road (N17)/Wit Road to be renamed after Ngungunyane Mashabane
  • Exit Route: Pomona (R21) to be renamed after Petrus Magagula
  • Exit Route: Jones Road (R21/R24) to be renamed after Walter Sisulu
  • Exit Route: Kliprivier R550 (R59/Alberton South) to be renamed after Sam Ntuli
  • Exit Route: Wits Rifles Road (N17) to be renamed after Sam Sidu
  • Exit Route: Bronkhorspruit Road (R25/R21) to be renamed after Sarah Mnyele
  • Exit Route: Atlas Road (R21) to be renamed after Solomon Jefferson Mahlangu
  • Exit Route: Van Buuren (N3) to be renamed Thabo Mbeki
  • Exit Route: Rondebult (Boksburg) to be renamed after Thomas Nkobi
  • Exit Route: Grey Avenue (N3) to be renamed after Vuyisile Bixa
  • Exit Route: Benoni Road (R21/R23) to be renamed after Willie Oupa Lukhele
  • Exit Route: R562 Olifantsfontein to be renamed after Winnie Madikizela-Mandela




Trending News

More News

About Tame Times

Tame Communications (known as tameTIMES) was established in 1997. This long-established popular community title includes the key shopping centres:  Alberton City, Mall...

Get in Touch